In emergency services, mutual aid is an agreement among emergency responders to lend assistance across jurisdictional boundaries. This may occur due to an emergency response that exceeds local resources, such as a disaster or a multiple-alarm fire.

The Washtenaw Area Mutual Aid Association (WAMAA) currently has 21 Member Fire Departments.
We protect all of Washtenaw County as well as parts of Western Wayne, Lenawee, Monroe, and Livingston Counties. Our Association also promotes interaction between support agencies and other emergency response agencies as well. We meet monthly at various location around our coverage area.


The WAMAA Executive Board

President Jim Rachwal – Chief, Salem Twp FD

Vice President Sean Gleason – Chief, Pittsfield Twp. FD

Secretary Mike Kennedy – Chief, Ann Arbor City FD

Treasurer Mark Nicholai – Chief, Ann Arbor Twp. FD

Washtenaw County Hazardous Materials Team

Executive Board Members

Chair: Chief Craig Hoeft

Deputy Chair: Chief Sean Gleason

Chief William Wagner

Chief Eric Copeland

Director Chief Vic Chevrette

Deputy Director Russ Girbach

Washtenaw County Technical Rescue Team

Executive Board Members

Chief Craig Hoeft

Chief William Wagner

Chief Sean Gleason

WC TRT Director Lieutenant Mike Chevrette

WC TRT Deputy Director Captain Greg Payeur